- FUN FEATURES
Do you have e-Edition Questions? Click Here to find your answers.
Town Clerk Carolyn Z. Soltis would like to remind all owners of dogs six months or older that their dogs must be licensed on or before June 30, according to Sec. 22-338 of the Connecticut General Statutes. The registration fee is $19 for male and female dogs and $8 for neutered male and spayed female dogs (CGS Sec 22-338/Sec. 22-380l). Newly spayed or neutered dogs must have a certificate from a veterinarian or clinic.
Notices to license dogs currently on file are no longer being mailed.
Sec.22-339b of the Connecticut General Statutes requires all dogs three months of age or older to be vaccinated against rabies and all dogs six months of age or older to be licensed by the end of June. Animals receiving their first vaccination must be revaccinated in one year, regardless of age. Animals being revaccinated after that are usually protected for three years.
A rabies vaccination certificate, signed by a veterinarian, stating the date of vaccination and the duration of immunity, must be presented when the dog is licensed. No license may be issued unless the certificate indicates that the vaccine provides immunity at the time of licensing. Tags are not acceptable since they do not provide a rabies expiration date.
Licenses may be obtained at the Town Clerk’s Office beginning this month. Owners wishing to avoid waiting in line at the office are reminded that licenses may be renewed by mail. There is a $1 penalty per license for each month that the license is overdue. Please send the necessary information and fee, along with a stamped, self-addressed envelope, to the Town Clerk’s Office, 84 South Main St., Cheshire, CT 06410.