Skip to main content

e-Edition FAQs

Do you have e-Edition Questions? Click Here to find your answers.


Cheshire Ed. Foundation Presents Its Scholarship Awards

May 27, 2011 by Special To The ...

Winners of the scholarships administered by the Cheshire Education Foundation were announced Tuesday evening May 24th at Cheshire High School’s annual Awards Convocation. Nearly 200 graduating seniors applied for eight scholarships including the inaugural Greg Schena Memorial Scholarship, which is given in memory of the former Cheshire High assistant football coach who was a member of the Class of 2001.
The scholarship winners chosen this year by Cheshire Education Foundation scholarship selection sub-committees will receive a total of $23,000. “Our foundation is proud to work with the generous families and organizations that make these scholarships possible,” said CEF chairman John Capone. “Our scholarship programs help deserving students in the Cheshire Public School system offset part of the rising costs of a college education,” he added. “We are happy and honored to do our part for the young people in our home town.”
Cheshire Schools Superintendent Greg Florio underscored the importance of the Cheshire Education Foundation’s continuing commitment to scholarship programs.  “The addition of the award that honors the memory of Greg Schena points to how the foundation has worked hard each year to expand the opportunities for Cheshire High School Students,” said Dr. Florio. 
The recipients of the first Greg Schena Memorial Scholarship are Kevin Reid of 276 Towpath Lane and Matt Dupont of 261 Argyle Road. Kevin plans to attend the University of Notre Dame working on a Pre-Med major in Molecular Biology. Matt will attend Keene State College majoring in Education. Each winner will receive $1000.
The annual Cheshire Education Foundation General Scholarship, which is also a $1,000 grant, was awarded to Sean Kinyon of 155 Round Hill Road who plans on attending Harvard University where he will study International Affairs.
Three Cheshire High seniors will equally share the $10,000 John E. Delane Memorial Scholarship. They are Colin Bogrette of 273 Greenwood Drive, Ashia Wright of 593 Higgins Road and Eric Zdanowski of 95 Orleton Court. Colin Bogrette will attend Keene State College this fall. Ashia Wright will attend Sacred Heart University and Eric Zdanowski will be attending the University of Connecticut.
Awards of $1,500 each will go to the two winners of the Mark S. Jardim Memorial Scholarship: Alexis Ouellette of 269 Timber Lane and Danielle Crochetiere of 631 Mixville Road. Alexis plans to attend Eastern Connecticut State University and study communication disorders. Danielle is enrolling at the University of Massachusetts- Amherst in the Commonwealth Honors College.
The recipient of the Meaghan Welch Memorial Artistic Scholarship is Courtney Haskell of 99 Belridge Road. Courtney will receive $2,000 to help pay for her studies at Quinnipiac University where she will major in education.
William Guo of 76 Sloper Lane will receive $1,000 as the winner of the Lombardo Family Scholarship. William is planning to pursue a career in computer engineering and continue his studies at the University of California at Berkeley.
The annual Daniel P. Martinook Scholarship totaling $1,000 was awarded this year to Marikate Villano of 415 Willow Well Court. Marikate is headed for Wagner College where she will study nursing.
Matthew Greenwood of 270 Oregon Road is the winner of the $500 Chapman School Scholarship. Matthew will be attending the University of Connecticut where he will consider pursuing a career in medicine.
And another installment of $2,500 will be presented to Jenny Ly of 63 Birch Drive, the recipient of the Kelly Cunningham Memorial Scholarship. Ms. Ly is attending SUNY Stony Brook where she is studying biological sciences. The total award of $10,000 is paid in increments of $2500/year for her four years at college. Jenny will be starting her senior year in September.
Superintendent Florio commended Cheshire Education Foundation Scholarship Chairman Dr. Barry Feldman for his “outstanding job coordinating this effort, and the CEF membership who spend countless hours raising funds and reviewing applications.”
“We are proud of all these scholarship winners, and we are thankful for the support of the Cheshire community,” said CEF chairman Capone. “It is a great privilege for our foundation to provide opportunities for people in Cheshire to establish scholarships that honor the memory of their family members for years to come and recognize superior achievement.”


Colin Bogrette


Matthew Dupont


Matt Greenwood


Will Guo


Courtney Haskell


Sean Kinyon


Alexis Ouellette


Kevin Reid


MariKate Villano


Ashia Wright


Eric Zdanowski
Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes
User login